area briefs

area briefs


MOORHEAD – The 3 Bees, a European clothing store for women, and Moorhead’s Chapter CO of P.E.O. are once again celebrating the holiday season with the Winter Wonderland Style Show at 1 p.m. Saturday. It takes place in the FM Community Theatre rehearsal hall at the Center Mall, across the aisle from The 3 Bees. Admission is $15, including pie and coffee from Kreps Family Farm Bakery.

All proceeds from the style show are earmarked for the educational loan fund sponsored by P.E.O., a philanthropic organization of women. The fund offers needs-based grants to American and Canadian women whose education has been interrupted, the International Peace Scholarship, the Scholar Awards for those pursuing doctoral degrees, the STAR Scholarship for high school seniors, and the Rising Hope Fund, which provides financial assistance to Minnesota women pursuing their high school GEDs.

The 3 Bees, which started in owner Barb Schramm’s basement, moved into the Center Mall in April 2021. She uses European connections made during her years there as an opera singer to import clothing, shoes and accessories for women of all sizes. The shop’s hours are from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday.

Tickets are available at The 3 Bees or by phone — 218-443-0697.


MOORHEAD – Just in time for the holiday season, libraries across Lake Agassiz Regional Library’s seven county region are offering free COVID-19 tests through a partnership with the Minnesota Department of Health. The tests are available while supplies last in Lake Agassiz Regional Library’s branch libraries, which are located in Ada, Bagley, Barnesville, Breckenridge, Climax, Crookston, Detroit Lakes, Fertile, Fosston, Hawley, Mahnomen, McIntosh and Moorhead. 

COVID-19 tests will also be available in the library systems LINK sites, which can be found in Cormorant, Frazee, Gonvick, Halstad, Hendrum, Lake Park, Rothsay, Twin Valley and Ulen.


MOORHEAD – The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system office has announced a 13-person search advisory committee to assist in naming the next president of Minnesota State University Moorhead. President Anne Blackhurst will retire in June 2023 after nine years leading MSUM.  

The committee, which includes faculty, staff, administration, community members, and a student representative, will hold its initial meeting on Wednesday, Nov. 30. The selected finalists will visit the university for additional campus and community input.  

“As we begin the important work of selecting MSUM’s next president, the committee will be looking for a passionate, student-focused and community-centric leader who visibly demonstrates MSUM’s core values of grit, humility and heart,” said Kayla Kappes, MSUM’s chief human resources officer and campus search committee liaison. “We are seeking highly collaborative individuals who will build on the accomplishments and reputation of MSU Moorhead.”   

The committee includes:  

Robbyn Wacker, Search Committee Chair, President, St. Cloud State University  

Ashley Atteberry, MSUM Director of Student Conduct & Resolution  

Jeremy Carney, MSUM Professor, Social Work  

Denise Gorsline, MSUM Assistant Professor, Communications  

Kevin Hanson, CEO, Gate City Bank  

Gary Haugo, MSUM Vice President for University Advancement  

Lisa Johnson, MSUM Accounting Officer Intermediate  

Dave Lawrence, Principal, Moorhead High School  

Robert Nava, MSUM Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs & Dean of Graduate Studies  

Heather Nesemeier, MSUM OAS Senior  

Jenny Olson, Site Leader, Microsoft  

Terry Peterson, MSUM Director of IT Applications  

Max Thompson, Student


MOORHEAD – A Minnesota State University Moorhead student art exhibit featuring works by graduating art students will be on display in the Roland Dille Center for the Arts gallery through December 15. The exhibit is in partial fulfillment of students’ Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) degrees.  

Gallery hours are Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., and Saturday, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. It’s free and open to the public.  

Featured Minnesota student artists include Kathryn Macgregor, Crookston, Brooklyn Weiss, Little Falls, Hope Stromsodt, Moorhead, Lily Hendrickson, Detroit Lakes, Alexandra Hansen, Montevideo, and Morgan Hines, Glyndon. Students from North Dakota include Jared Palluck, Davenport, and Ashley Peterson, West Fargo.

Comments are closed.

  • More Stories

    Area Briefs – Feb. 2

    February 1st, 2023

    Area Briefs Jan. 26

    January 25th, 2023

    Area Briefs January 19

    January 20th, 2023
  • Facebook